Skip To Main Content

Mobile Navigation

Alba Polsley Receives Uhry/Thompson Award

At the Annual Faculty Tea on May 18, Middle School science teacher Alba Polsley was named this year's recipient of the Uhry/Thompson Award. 

The award was established in 1992 to recognize a teacher who best exemplifies the spirit of two former Calhoun faculty members, Johanna Uhry and Barbara Thompson. The recipient, chosen yearly by the Head of School and the Division Directors, is characterized by mastery of academic discipline, the ability to make learning come alive, and a willingness to give meticulous attention to each student’s individual needs. 

Alba, who is in her thirteenth year at Calhoun, "creates a classroom that epitomizes hands-on learning – it is inquiry-based, collaborative and intellectually challenging," said Head of School Steve Solnick as he presented the award. "She is a role model for what it looks like and means to be a scientist."

We are grateful for all of Alba's contributions to Calhoun. Congratulations, Alba!

Kindergarten teacher Tillie Scarritt was recognized for thirty years at Calhoun.

The Annual Tea is hosted each year by the Parents Association to celebrate and thank Calhoun’s faculty and staff. In addition to the school’s Uhry/Thompson presentation, the PA awards tribute gifts to employees marking milestone anniversaries.

See the full list of faculty/staff who were recognized at the Annual Tea:

5 Years
Molly Cohen
Nora Nicolini
Peter Russo
Inna Tokar
Steve Solnick
Jennifer Guzman

10 Years
Erica Hassler
Kyle Anderson
Irene Baigorri
Xiaolin Lin
Liz Mavis

20 Years
Cara Finnerty
Victor Lin
Jose Roman
Tony Guzman

30 Years
Tillie Scarritt


Explore More