Skip To Main Content

Mobile Navigation

Tillie Scarritt Receives Uhry/Thompson Award
Tillie Wins Teacher Award

First grade teacher Tillie Scarritt was named this year’s recipient of the Uhry/Thompson Award at the Annual Faculty Tea on May 15.

The award recognizes a teacher who best exemplifies the spirit of two former Calhoun faculty members – characterized by mastery of academic discipline, the ability to make learning come alive, and a willingness to give meticulous attention to each student’s individual needs. The recipient is chosen by the Head of School and the division directors.

Tillie has taught at Calhoun for 27 years. Throughout her work, she has played a key role in developing Lower School curriculum, mentoring new faculty members, and upholding a number of beloved Calhoun traditions, such as the first grade mammal museum and pocket people projects.

“[Tillie’s] ability to get to know each child enables her to bring out the very best in every student… Her commitment to making each student feel safe and loved has engendered a love of learning in the hundreds of students lucky enough to have had her as a teacher,” said Head of School Steve Solnick, who presented the award.

The Annual Tea is hosted each year by the Parents Association to celebrate and thank Calhoun’s faculty and staff. In addition to the school’s Uhry/Thompson presentation, the PA awards tribute gifts to employees marking milestone anniversaries.

See the full list of faculty/staff who were recognized at the Annual Tea below:

5 Years
Tammy Abrahem
Lisa Bianchi Merritt
Lyda Ely
Nicholas DiNozzi
Nina Harmande
Megan Sanderville
Dana Wolfson

10 Years
Brendan Doyle
Jeffrey Hom
Ilya Malachias 
Alba Polsley
Richard Amelius

15 Years
Carl Bellamy
Auguste Elder
Janice Coston
Daniel Ercilla

20 Years
Francesca Canin
Megan McDonnell
Michelle Raum
Julie Ramos
Benjamin Schwartz

30 Years
Alison Rothschild '85
Diane Ryan
Jean Tait

35 Years
Amy Brown


Explore More